Tributaries and Watersheds

The Winooski River watershed drains approximately 1,080 square miles in central Vermont, encompassing all of Washington County, about half of Chittenden County, and portions of Lamoille and Orange Counties. The river has seven major tributaries: Little River, North Branch and Kingsbury Branch enter from the north and the Huntington River, Mad River, Dog River and Stevens Branch enter from the south. Kingsbury Branch begins in Woodbury, flows through Calais, and enters the Winooski River in East Montpelier.